An unspeakable horror seized me.

“There was a darkness; then a dizzy, sickening sensation of sight that was not like seeing; I saw a Line that was no Line; Space that was not Space; I was myself, and not myself” (95).

This is how chapter 18 “How I came to Spaceland and what I saw there” of Flatland begins. This is the beginning of A Square’s experience of three dimensional space. A Square expresses an overwhelming sense of nothingness in his first explanation of his experience, there is something but also nothing, a series of negations and an overall expression of space as nothingness, a void. After his first impression subsides, A Square recognizes a “new world” before him, a world received through sight and not simply through inference, conjecture, or dreams (95).

I started this blog and subsequent twitter account for an academic assignment at UBC in 2015. I would like to continue adding to the project and see what happens.

Take a look around and let me know if you like what you see. Thanks for checking it out!

Leave a Reply

