The Personal Journal

I’ve been keeping notes in a white Moleskine journal since the beginning of the project. As my research has evolved so has the journal, and I have started to document some of these changes. I’ve noticed, throughout the project, that dimensions can be considered as different layers, and in that case, there can be many dimensions to my journal, only in the form of layers. To illustrate this I have crafted various layers that I will actually be covering up with more materials. I am documenting the inner layers in order to show them after they have been covered up, and I am doing this so that I can play with book making techniques and some craftiness, but also to illustrate different dimensions of textual reality. In most cases, the text underneath would not have been seen by anyone, that is, it would remain hidden from view because I have covered it up. Luckily, I have taken photographs of my progress in order to show how the journal has changed into its final form. In this way, each layer is like another dimension of the journal’s past existence. This calls into question notions of the Index and hints at the fact that there are layers to books that people do not often see, or take for granted once the finished product is in their hands. That is, does the glue ever get admired? I thought that I should include some sort of synthetic smells to the journal to make it sensible in a different way, and also to evoke another sense of dimension: that of the five senses.
So, through my mangling of this Moleskine journal I am exploring different dimensions of experience, such as, the tactile and the visual, but also interacting with the olfactory. I am expanding this sense of layers into the web as well, creating a multi-faceted hub of all things Flatland on the one hand, but also a documentation of my personal experience of the novel. I want to bring facets of the journal into the web in order to make a connection between layers of experience. While I physically create layers in my journal, I am simultaneously creating a web of off shoots and loose ends that are then picked up by the virtual journal that is this very blog.

Leave a Reply

